The purpose of a nightmare.

by blueberrieblues

Two nights ago, I had a horrific nightmare (well, multiple.) And they have left me with an upset stomach and a massive headache. One in particular was me brutally killing a girl with a piece of glass. I cut off her arms and her legs and I have this vivid image of her wiggling helpless on the ground. It was terrifying. My husband had to wake me from my sleep because I was having a panic attack with uncontrollable breathing. Needless to say, it was hard to fall back into sleep after a nightmare like that. I laid there for a couple of hours with anxiety running through my body. I couldn’t shake it. Throughout the day, the nightmare kept popping up in my head. I was incredibly sad. A friend had asked if I looked up the interpretation of my dream. This is what I found via Dream Moods:

“To dream that you have committed a murder indicates that you are putting an end to an old habit and a former way of thinking. This could also refer to an end to an addiction. Alternatively, the dream indicates that you have some repressed aggression or rage at yourself or at someone. Note also that dreams of murder occur frequently during periods of depression.”

It’s weird, isn’t it, that our minds deal with things in the dream world when we can’t handle them in the real world? I can only hope that this dream was a way to release the pain and hurt I feel over the rape so many years ago. I wish you all happy dreams for nights to come…

Love,
BB

PS. I also found this dream forum interesting. I also want to note that I am NOT a violent person. I let spiders live when I find them in my house. 🙂 And, I’ve always had a strong memory of my dreams. It’s a curse. :/

 

 

